First thoughts TGTG

I thought it would be daunting to reproduce a text exactly, but actually it is quite a confidence booster to get things right.

What I would love is a hint button that would give you the next letter, so that you don’t have to reread the whole text if you get stuck.

2 Likes

Hi, a newbie here.

Have just tried my first session with Spanish and am experimenting with a couple of source documents just to see how it all works.

The first (a travel blog) may be a bit of a challenge for my basic level European Spanish but I’ll persevere and see how it goes.

I then tried something simpler - a children’s story “The Bird and the Whale” but soon ran into a translation problem. The phrase " *Le encantaba cómo nadaba elegantemente por el agua. was translated by the sofware as “He loved how he slept elegantly by the water.” It should have translated as “He loved the way she swam gracefully through the water.” Even with the help of the audio, I found the difference between ‘slept’ and ‘swam’ more than a bit confusing.

I’ll keep at it.

1 Like

Thanks for the feedback! Definitely interested to hear what other source documents you think might be useful. I’m wondering if we shouldn’t have some kind of library available.

Google Translate! Would have expected that’d be a relatively basic sentence to translate - I haven’t found anything so far indicating that nadar could mean sleep. Would love to use DeepL which seems to offer better quality translations, but we’re based in the US and they’re only working with businesses in the EU at the moment. We’ll definitely give them a shot as soon as it’s possible.